The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Five from SEC named to U.S. Olympic Softball Team

280 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Sean Taylor

Five former student-athletes from the Southeastern Conference are a part of the 15-person roster for the U.S. Olympic Softball Team that will compete in the 2020 Games in Tokyo, Japan, as announced by USA Softball.

  • Monica Abbott, Tennessee - 2007
  • Haylie McCleney, Alabama - 2016
  • Michelle Moultrie, Florida - 2012
  • Aubree Munro, Florida - 2016
  • Kelsey Stewart, Florida - 2016

Abbott was one of three pitchers on the Olympic roster for the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China, where Team USA finished with the silver medal. McCleney is the first Crimson Tide Olympian in the sport since Kelly Kretschman competed as an alternate in the 2000 Olympics before winning gold and silver medals at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games, respectively. Moultrie, Munro and Stewart are the first Gators from the program to earn spots on an Olympic roster.

The 2020 USA Softball Women's National Team roster includes two Olympians, 12 members of the 2018 World Championship team and 13 members of the 2019 Pan American Games Gold Medal team.

In Tokyo, Team USA will join No. 2 Japan, No. 3 Canada, No. 5 Mexico, No. 7 Australia and No. 9 Italy as the field of six countries competing in the games. As the host country, Japan earned an automatic berth, while Team USA punched their ticket to the Olympic Games after winning the 2018 World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) Softball World Championship. Italy earned their spot in Tokyo after winning the WBSC Softball Europe/Africa Qualifier, while Canada and Mexico qualified as the top two teams from the WBSC Women's Softball Americas Qualifier. Australia punched the last ticket to Tokyo by winning the WBSC Softball Asia/Oceania Qualifier.