The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

UK picked to win 2020 SEC Men's Basketball Championship

1513 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Chet White | UK Athletics

Birmingham, Ala. - Kentucky was predicted to win the 2020 Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Wildcats are the overall preseason favorite for the ninth consecutive season and the 15th time since the 1998-99 season.

Florida's Kerry Blackshear was the choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year. Florida's Andrew Nembhard, Georgia's Anthony Edwards, Kentucky's Ashton Hagans & Tyrese Maxey, LSU's Skylar Mays, Ole Miss' Breein Tyree, Mississippi State's Reggie Perry and Tennessee's Lamonté Turner also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

Blackshear, Edwards, Hagans, Tyree and Perry were each All-SEC First Team selections. Nembhard, Maxey, Mays and Turner were second team picks along with Alabama's Kira Lewis Jr., Arkansas' Isaiah Joe and Kentucky's EJ Montgomery.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team. Ties were not broken.

The 2019-20 campaign begins November 5, with conference play set to begin January 4. The 2020 SEC Tournament will be March 11-15 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

First Team All-SEC

  • Kerry Blackshear - Florida
  • Anthony Edwards - Georgia
  • Ashton Hagans - Kentucky
  • Breein Tyree - Ole Miss
  • Reggie Perry - Mississippi State

Second Team All-SEC

  • Kira Lewis Jr. - Alabama
  • Isaiah Joe - Arkansas
  • Andrew Nembhard - Florida
  • Tyrese Maxey - Kentucky
  • EJ Montgomery - Kentucky
  • Skylar Mays - LSU
  • Lamonté Turner - Tennessee

SEC Player of the Year

Kerry Blackshear - Florida

Predicted Order Of Finish

  1. Kentucky
  2. Florida
  3. LSU
  4. Auburn
  5. Tennessee
  6. Alabama
  7. Mississippi State
  8. Ole Miss
  9. Georgia
  10. South Carolina
  11. Arkansas
  12. Texas A&M
  13. Missouri
  14. Vanderbilt