The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

South Carolina tabbed as 2020 SEC women's hoops champs

1332 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Todd Van Emst/SEC

Birmingham, Ala. - South Carolina was predicted to win the 2020 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Gamecocks went 23-10, 13-3 last season with a trip to the NCAA Sweet 16. South Carolina returns two starters among their six letterwinners and welcomes six newcomers to their roster.

South Carolina tops the order of finish, with Texas A&M, Mississippi State, Kentucky, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Auburn and rounding out the top half the league. LSU, Missouri, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Ole Miss and Vanderbilt round out the bottom half.

Texas A&M's Chennedy Carter was the overwhelming choice for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year. Arkansas' Chelsea Dungee and Rhyne Howard of Kentucky also received votes.

Joining Carter, Dungee and Howard on first-team All-SEC are LSU's Ayana Mitchell and South Carolina Tyasha Harris. Second-Team All-SEC consists of Unique Thompson, Auburn; Mikiah Herbert Harrigan, South Carolina; Rennia Davis, Tennessee; Ciera Johnson, Texas A&M and Mariella Fasoula, Vanderbilt.

Order of Finish

  1. South Carolina
  2. Texas A&M
  3. Mississippi State
  4. Kentucky
  5. Arkansas
  6. Tennessee
  7. Auburn
  8. LSU
  9. Missouri
  10. Georgia
  11. Alabama
  12. Florida
  13. Ole Miss
  14. Vanderbilt

Player of the Year

  • Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M (14)
  • Rhyne Howard, Kentucky (2)
  • Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas (1)

First-Team All-SEC

  • Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas
  • Rhyne Howard, Kentucky
  • Ayana Mitchell, LSU
  • Tyasha Harris, South Carolina
  • Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M

Second-Team All-SEC

  • Unique Thompson, Auburn
  • Mikiah Herbert Harrigan, South Carolina
  • Rennia Davis, Tennessee
  • Ciera Johnson, Texas A&M
  • Mariella Fasoula, Vanderbilt