The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2019 SEC Soccer Awards announced

277 days ago
Photo: Jimmy Mitchell

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference unveiled its soccer coaches' postseason awards Sunday to cap off another exciting season of SEC soccer.

Arkansas' Colby Hale earned SEC Coach of the Year honors after leading the Razorbacks to their first-ever SEC Championship with an 8-1-1 record. The Razorbacks are currently ranked No. 6 in the latest United Soccer Coaches Poll - the highest ranking in school history.

Alabama's Nealy Martin, Mississippi State's Makayla Waldner and Missouri's Sarah Luebbert were voted SEC co-Scholar Athletes of the Year. Martin, a senior defender who has started every game this year, owns a 4.0 grade point average in chemical engineering. Waldner, a senior forward who owns MSU's career record for game-winning goals, has a 3.60 grade point average in mechanical engineering. A four-time All-SEC forward, Luebbert has a 3.72 grade point average in mathematics.

Texas A&M's Ally Watt was named SEC Forward of the Year after leading the league with 10 goals and 22 points in conference games.

Texas A&M's Jimena Lopez, who ranks second in the nation with 13 total assists, was selected as SEC Midfielder of the Year.

Arkansas' Haley VanFossen and South Carolina's Grace Fisk were voted SEC co-Defenders of the Year. VanFossen and Fisk each anchor the two stingiest defenses in the league as the Gamecocks allowed only four goals in league play while the Razorbacks only gave up five goals.

A three-time first team All-SEC selection, South Carolina's Mikayla Krzeczowski was picked as the SEC Goalkeeper of the Year. Krzeczowski's 44 career shutouts are the 14th most in NCAA Division I history.

Arkansas' Anna Podojil was awarded SEC Freshman of the Year after ranking second in goals scored (7) and points (17) against conference opponents.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team in addition to the individual awards were chosen by the league's 14 coaches. Ties were not broken.

2019 SEC Soccer Awards

First Team All-SEC
Forward: Parker Goins, Arkansas
Forward: Anna Podojil, Arkansas
Forward: Channing Foster, Ole Miss
Forward: Sarah Luebbert, Missouri
Forward: Ally Watt, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Reyna Reyes, Alabama
Midfielder: Taylor Malham, Arkansas
Midfielder: Parker Roberts, Florida
Midfielder: Makayla Waldner, Mississippi State
Midfielder: Jimena Lopez, Texas A&M
Defender: Haley VanFossen, Arkansas
Defender: Julia Lester, Florida
Defender: Grace Fisk, South Carolina
Defender: Maya Neal, Tennessee
Goalkeeper: Mikayla Krzeczowski, South Carolina
At-Large: Kayla Bruster, Georgia
At-Large: MA Vignola, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC
Forward: Casey Wertz, Alabama
Forward: Vanessa Kara, Florida
Forward: Kit Loferski, Florida
Forward: Haley Hopkins, Vanderbilt
Midfielder: Bri Folds, Auburn
Midfielder: Lauren Chang, South Carolina
Midfielder: Jyllissa Harris, South Carolina
Midfielder: Katie Cousins, Tennessee
Midfielder: Maddie Elwell, Vanderbilt
Midfielder: Grace Jackson, Vanderbilt
Defender: Brynn Martin, Alabama
Defender: Bryana Hunter, Arkansas
Defender: Anna Patten, South Carolina
Defender: Briana Alston, Texas A&M
Defender: Nia Dorsey, Vanderbilt
Defender: Ella Shamburger, Vanderbilt
Goalkeeper: Katie Lund, Arkansas
At-Large: Maddie Moreau, LSU

All-Freshman Team
Carlee Giammona, Alabama
Reyna Reyes, Alabama
Anna Podojil, Arkansas
Sydney Richards, Auburn
Kouri Peace, Florida
Chloe Chapman, Georgia
Hannah Richardson, Kentucky
Maddie Moreau, LSU
Mo O'Connor, Ole Miss
Samantha Chang, South Carolina
Lindsey Romig, Tennessee
Katie Smith, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year
Colby Hale, Arkansas

Forward of the Year
Ally Watt, Texas A&M

Midfielder of the Year
Jimena Lopez, Texas A&M

Co-Defenders of the Year
Haley VanFossen, Arkansas
Grace Fisk, South Carolina

Goalkeeper of the Year
Mikayla Krzeczowski, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Anna Podojil, Arkansas

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Nealy Martin, Alabama
MaKayla Waldner, Mississippi State
Sarah Luebbert, Missouri