The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC student-athlete advisory council to meet

102 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Feb. 13, 2020)-----Twenty-three members of the Southeastern Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) will meet Friday and Saturday at the SEC offices in Birmingham.

The purpose of the SEC SAAC is to provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff. Additional councils with similar purposes were introduced by the Conference in 2016 for football and men's and women's basketball. Each council convenes annually, and a joint meeting is held during the summer. The SEC Football Leadership Council conducted its two-day meeting last weekend, and the basketball councils meet during the fall.

Agenda items for the SEC SAAC meeting include a presentation on social justice education by Jen Fry, a conversation with SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey, a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items, and an open discussion on SAAC programs. The group will also elect its vice chair at the end of its meeting. Current SEC SAAC chair Jake Gibbons will provide an update from the NCAA Division I SAAC meeting held recently at the NCAA Convention.

Student-athletes scheduled to attend the meeting include: Taylor Morgan (Alabama soccer), Ben Fuller (Alabama men's golf), Lauren Evans (Arkansas volleyball), Jacob Quattlebaum (Auburn football), Chesney McClellan (Auburn volleyball), Trey Freeman (Florida men's swimming and diving), Kristine Akervold (Florida women's track and field), Katie Jackson (Georgia women's track and field), Josh Horne (Georgia men's swimming and diving), Jacob Cook (Kentucky men's golf), Kendyl Paris (Kentucky volleyball), Courtney Henderson (LSU soccer), Aubrey Sultemeier (Ole Miss volleyball), Cade Bethmann (Ole Miss men's track and field), Kanani Price (Mississippi State volleyball), Danny Kovack (Missouri men's swimming and diving), Sarah Thompson (Missouri women's swimming and diving), Parker White (South Carolina football), Courtney Weber (South Carolina volleyball), Jessica Magnoli (Tennessee rowing), Erin Gilroy (Tennessee soccer), Daria Britton (Texas A&M soccer) and Jake Gibbons (Texas A&M men's swimming and diving).