The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

UT, A&M leading Swimming and Diving Championships

103 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: AU Athletics

Final Results

Auburn, Ala. - The Texas A&M men and Tennessee women are in the lead following the second day at the 2020 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships at Auburn's James E. Martin Aquatic Center.

To begin the evening session, Auburn set the SEC meet record in the 200 free relay as Julie Meynen, Claire Fisch, AJ Kutsch and Robyn Clevenger finished with a time of 1:26.15. Tennessee finished second at 1:26.15, and Missouri came in third at 1:27.70.

Alabama retained its title in the men's 200 free relay for the third consecutive year, with Tyler Sesvold, Zane Waddell, Jonathan Berneburg and Sam DiSette finishing with a top time of 1:16.00. Florida took second with a time of 1:16.33, followed by Texas A&M in third with a time of 1:16.57.

Courtney Harnish of Georgia became the two-time SEC champion in the women's 500 freestyle, touching the wall first with a time of 4:36.40. Harnish is the seventh performer to win back-to-back titles at the SEC Championships in the event. Ali Galyer of Kentucky took second place with a time of 4:38.40, while Kensey McMahon of Alabama placed third with a time of 4:38.66.

Kieran Smith of Florida set the US Open, NCAA, American and SEC meet records in the men's 500 freestyle with his time of 4:06.32. Smith is the first performer to break 4:07 all-time. Mark Theall of Texas A&M took the silver with a time of 4:10.77, and Bobby Finke of Florida earned the bronze with a time of 4:10.86.

Meghan Small of Tennessee won her third SEC title in the women's 200 IM with her top time of 1:52.14. Small is the third swimmer in SEC history to win this event three times (Maggie Bowen of Auburn [2001-2003] and Ava Ohlgren of Auburn [2007-2009]). Zoie Hartman of Georgia took second with a time of 1:53.05, and Asia Seidt of Kentucky finished third with a time of 1:53.70.

Shane Caisas of Texas A&M earned the gold and set the pool record in the men's 200 IM with a time of 1:39.91. Caisas is the seventh performer to break 1:40 and has recorded three of the fastest swims in the country this year. Missouri took the next two podium spots, as Nick Alexander came in second with a time of 1:42.49 and Danny Kovac placed third with a time of 1:43.24.

Erika Brown of Tennessee won the women's 50 free for the third consecutive year, setting the SEC meet and pool records with a time of 21.03. Second place went to Anna Hopkin of Arkansas with a time of 21.44, and third to Julie Meynen of Auburn with a time of 21.54.

Zane Waddell of Alabama was the winner of the men's 50 free with a time of 19.07. Adam Koster of Texas A&M took second (19.12) and Lewis Burras of South Carolina finished third (19.17).

Kurtis Mathews of Texas A&M won his second individual title in two days, posting a top score of 436.50 in the men's 1-meter springboard. Conner Pruitt of Auburn finished second with a score of 376.60, and William Hallam of Tennessee came in third with a score of 374.35.

The 2020 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships continues on Thursday, Feb. 20 at 9:30 a.m. CT with the preliminaries for the 400 IM, 100 fly, 200 free and the women's 3-meter diving, followed by the finals of those four events starting at 5:30 p.m. CT. Both sessions can be viewed on SEC Network+.

2020 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Two (Feb. 19 - Auburn, Ala.)

Wednesday's Final Results:

Women's Team Results (through Event 13):

1.  Tennessee 385
2.  Florida 356.5
3.  Auburn 352
4.  Kentucky 321
5.  Georgia 310
6.  Texas A&M 300
7.  Alabama 243.5
8.  Missouri 212
9.  Arkansas 200
10.  South Carolina 168
11.  LSU 160
12.  Vanderbilt 90

Men's Team Results (through Event 15):

1.  Texas A&M 438
2.  Florida 395
3.  Alabama 361
4.  Kentucky 340
5.  Georgia 339.5
6.  Tennessee 328.5
7.  Auburn 301
8.  Missouri 276
9.  South Carolina 238
10.  LSU 223