The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas sweeps SEC Indoor Track and Field titles

1305 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Texas A&M Athletics

Final Results

COLLEGE STATION, Texas (Feb. 29, 2020)-----The No. 10-ranked Arkansas men's track and field team and the No. 3-ranked Arkansas women's track and field team claimed the 2020 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships Saturday at Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium.

The SEC Indoor Championship is the 23rd all-time for the Arkansas men and the first since 2017. The Razorbacks scored 106 total team points to take home the title, while LSU was second with 88 and Texas A&M was third with 82. Florida was fourth was 75 points, followed by Tennessee (67), Kentucky (55.5), Missouri (43), Ole Miss (41), Alabama (35), Georgia (32), South Carolina (20), Auburn (12.5) and Mississippi State (4).

The Arkansas women won their 10th all-time SEC Indoor Championship and sixth in a row by scoring 102 total team points. LSU was second with 87.5 points, ahead of Georgia (78), Alabama (67), Kentucky (63), Texas A&M (58), Florida (45), Ole Miss (43), Tennessee (43), Missouri (24.5), Auburn (19), South Carolina (18), Mississippi State (9) and Vanderbilt (6).

Arkansas' Cameron Griffith won the men's Cliff Harper Trophy, awarded to the high-points scorer at the SEC Indoor Championships, with 20 points, while Texas A&M's Tyra Gittens won the women's Cliff Harper Trophy with 21 points.

Champions crowned

Individual men's champions crowned Saturday include LSU's JuVaughn Harrison in the high jump (2.26m/7-5), Florida's Thomas Mardal in the weight throw (22.89m/75-1.25), Missouri's Martin Prodanov in the mile (4:14.92), Florida's Raymond Ekevwo in the 60m (6.57), Texas A&M's Bryce Deadmon in the 400m (45.51), Alabama's Robert Dunning in the 60m Hurdles (7.65), Texas A&M's Devin Dixon in the 800m (1:49.63), LSU's Terrance Laird in the 200m (20.52), Florida's Clayton Brown in the triple jump (16.50m/54-1.75) and Arkansas's Cameron Griffith in the 3000m (8:10.24). Texas A&M won the men's 4x400 in 3:04.86.

Georgia claimed the men's heptathlon for the eighth year in a row as freshman Kyle Garland won the title with 5,060 points.

Individual women's champions crowned Saturday include Kentucky's Ellen Ekholm in the high jump (1.91m/6-3.25), Alabama's Tamara Clark in the 60m (7.27), Kentucky's Alexis Holmes in the 400m (52.08), LSU's Tonea Marshall in the 60m Hurdles (7.89), Georgia's Amber Tanner in the 800m (2:04.35), Georgia's Jasmine Moore in the triple jump (13.74m/45-1), Kentucky's Abby Steiner in the 200m (22.57), LSU's Lisa Gunnrsson in the pole vault (4.46m/14-7.5), Ole Miss' Shey Taiwo in the weight throw (22.72m/74-6.5) and Arkansas' Katie Izzo in the 3000m (9:09.02). Alabama won the women's 4x400 in 3:29.36.

Records set

Ekholm's mark of 1.91m/6-3.25 in the women's high jump tied the meet record set by Mississippi State's Logan Boss in 2018.

Marshall's time of 7.89 in the women's 60m Hurdles is a new meet record, breaking the previous time of 7.92 set by Kentucky's Kendra Harrison in 2015.