The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC baseball royalty: 8 schools that have won the CWS

204 days ago
Joe Menzer | SEC Network
Photo: Eric Francis/Getty Images

As home of baseball's College World Series, the city of Omaha in Nebraska has long been the destination of choice for teams fielded by schools in the Southeastern Conference.

With Ole Miss winning the CWS this year to claim the program's first national title, it's getting so the folks in Omaha can count on their city being flooded by SEC teams and their rabid fans each June.

The CWS began in 1947 to determine baseball's national champion each year, and the SEC obviously has enjoyed its share of success. Lately, the conference has enjoyed a proverbial lion's share of success, accustomed to devouring all non-conference competition in its path.

Eight of the last 13 national champions crowned at conclusion of the College World Series have been Southeastern Conference teams, with South Carolina winning back-to-back titles in 2010 and 2011, Vanderbilt also winning twice (2014 and 2019), and a single crown each being claimed by Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Florida and LSU.

The 2020 CWS was canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic. So counting 2019 winner Vanderbilt, SEC schools have won the last three and five of the last eight national championships, dating back to Vandy's first title in 2014. Furthermore, the SEC has had either the national champion or the runner-up -- or both -- in 13 of the last 14 College World Series.

To put that in perspective, there has been only one CWS national championship series without at least one SEC school since 2008. Twice the final has been an all-SEC affair -- in 2017 when Florida bested LSU and in 2021 when Mississippi State edged out Vanderbilt.

Half of the 2022 CWS field of eight teams was made up of SEC schools -- not just Ole Miss, but also Arkansas, Texas A&M and Auburn.

Every SEC coach appreciates making the trip to the CWS, as evidenced by the comments made by Texas A&M coach Jim Schlossnagle upon his arrival this year when he called Omaha "the pearly gates of college baseball."  But each year, no matter what has been accomplished along the way, only one team can emerge on top as Ole Miss did this year.

Click on the logos below of the SEC schools who have accomplished this feat to learn more about each of their journeys to the pinnacle of college baseball: