The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

A look back at the All-SEC CWS finals

71 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

The Southeastern Conference has achieved unparalleled success at the College World Series in recent years. In 11 of the last 12 years, at least one SEC team has played for the national championship, and in three of those seasons, both teams in the championship game or the championship series were from the SEC. A recap of the three All-SEC College World Series finals follows:


The 1997 College World Series included four SEC squads in the eight- team field. LSU and Alabama reached the championship game. LSU jumped out to a 9-0 lead after two innings and never looked back in a 13-6 win over the Crimson Tide. The win gave the Tigers back-to-back national titles. It capped a remarkable season for LSU, which opened the season with an SEC-record 19 consecutive wins.

LSU's Danny Higgins started things off for the Tigers with a home run in the bottom of the first inning. He would later hit a two-run single in the same inning to stretch the lead to 6-0. Alabama cut the lead to 9-4 and loaded the bases with one out in the fifth, but LSU reliever Doug Thompson struck out the next two batters to end the threat.

LSU finished the season with a 57-13 record. It was also an extraordinary season for Alabama, which became the first team in NCAA history to have four players hit 20 or more home runs in a season. The Crimson Tide, ranked No. 1 entering the College World Series, finished with a 56-14 record. LSU's title was its fourth in seven years.


The second All-SEC College World Series final featured South Carolina and Florida in 2011. It was the first time two SEC teams met in the final since the introduction of the best-of-three championship series. The Gamecocks won their second consecutive national championship and became the first team to go 10-0 in NCAA Tournament play in one season.

In the first game of the series, South Carolina used a pair of throwing errors in the top of the 11th inning to score the winning run in a 2-1 victory. Florida scored first in the bottom of the third, then the Gamecocks scored on a two-out single in the top of the eighth.

South Carolina again rode stellar pitching to win the second game of the series. Michael Roth allowed just five hits and two runs with six strikeouts in 7.2 innings. South Carolina struck first for three runs in the bottom of the third, and it proved to be enough as the Gamecocks won their record 16th-consecutive postseason game and 11th consecutive College World Series game.

South Carolina finished the season with a 55-14 record, while Florida was 53-19.


In the latest All-SEC College World Series final in 2017, it was Florida that secured its first national championship by winning the first two games of the best-of-three series. In the second game of the series, Florida scored an unearned run in each of the first two innings. LSU would trim the lead to 2-1 before the Gators tacked on four runs in the bottom of the eighth to become the first SEC school to win a national championship in baseball, football and men's basketball.

Florida won the first game of the series, 4-3. The Gators jumped out to a lead with three runs in the fourth inning and held off the Tigers' late comeback. Brady Singer tossed seven strong innings with a career-high 12 strikeouts.

The following night it was pitching and defense again that propelled the Gators. Tyler Dyson threw a career-high six innings and held LSU to one run on three hits in just his second career start. An LSU baserunner was thrown out at home in the top of the eighth, preserving Florida's one-run lead before the Gators added four runs in the bottom of the frame.

Florida finished the season at 52-19, while LSU was 52-20. The two teams shared the SEC regular season crown, and LSU won the SEC Tournament.