The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Current SEC baseball coaches among winningest all-time

770 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

A quick glance at the Southeastern Conference baseball record book shows that the current group of SEC head baseball coaches are among the best in the league's history.

Six of the conference's head coaches have been in their current position for at least 13 years, and all six are ranked in the top 15 all-time in most wins or best winning percentage as an SEC head coach. They are Arkansas' Dave Van Horn, Florida's Kevin O'Sullivan, LSU's Paul Mainieri, Ole Miss' Mike Bianco, Texas A&M's Rob Childress and Vanderbilt's Tim Corbin.

Bianco is ranked third all-time in the SEC with 767 wins, trailing only legendary coaches Ron Polk and Skip Bertman. In 20 seasons leading the Ole Miss program, Bianco has delivered 16 postseason appearances, including six Super Regional berths and a trip to the College World Series in 2014. He also stands as the winningest and longest-active coach in the SEC among the three major men's sports of baseball, men's basketball and football.

The Rebels have reached the 30-win plateau in each of Bianco's 19 seasons, including eight 40-win campaigns. The Rebels posted three straight 40-win seasons from 2005-07 for the first time in school history and have hit the program record of 48 wins three times. In 24 seasons as a head coach, Bianco is 867-511-1.

Mainieri is 603-260-3 (.697) at LSU, and he has the third-highest winning percentage in SEC history, trailing only former LSU coach Skip Bertman (.724) and former South Carolina coach Ray Tanner (.700). Mainieri recently completed his 14th season at LSU. He has guided the Tigers to the 2009 national championship and five College World Series appearances.

During Mainieri's tenure, LSU has captured a remarkable 30 team championships, including the 2009 NCAA title, eight NCAA Regional championships, five NCAA Super Regional championships, four SEC championships, six SEC Tournament titles and six SEC Western Division crowns. In his 38 seasons as a head coach, Mainieri has compiled a record of 1467-752-8.

The 2020 season was the 18th as head coach at Vanderbilt for Corbin, who ranks fourth behind Bianco with 753 wins. During his tenure, Corbin has led Vanderbilt to two national championships in the last seven seasons (2014, 2019). His record of 753-359-1 (.677) is first all-time in wins at Vanderbilt and first in winning percentage for coaches with 100 games or more.

In his career as a head coach, Corbin is 859-497-1. Over the last seven seasons, the Commodores have secured three trips to the College World Series finals while running their streak to 14 consecutive NCAA Tournament berths - the longest active streak in the Southeastern Conference.

O'Sullivan ranks fifth all-time in winning percentage. He has a .681 mark in his 13 seasons in Gainesville and led his team to the program's first national title in 2017. Florida has earned a national seed for the NCAA tournament nine times in 12 seasons under O'Sullivan, more than any other school in that span.

O'Sullivan and the Gators have made seven trips to the NCAA College World Series in the past 10 years. He is a four-time SEC coach of the Year and two-time national coach of the year. Florida has won five SEC titles (2010-11-14-17-18) and six SEC Eastern Division titles under O'Sullivan.

The final game of the 2020 Arkansas season marked the 700th career win at the helm of the Razorbacks for Van Horn. He stands 15th all-time in the SEC in winning percentage at .643. In 25 total seasons as a head coach, Van Horn is 972-525.

Over his 17 seasons as head coach, Van Horn has led Arkansas to six College World Series appearances, 16 NCAA Tournament berths, one SEC regular season, five SEC Western Division championships and a total of 700 wins, averaging more than 40 wins a season. Under his guidance, 28 Razorbacks have been named All-Americans, 42 as All-SEC players, and 109 have been picked in the MLB Draft. Those draft picks are the third-most among all active head coaches in the SEC.

Childress recently completed his eighth season as a head coach in the SEC. He stands 11th in SEC history with a .661 winning percentage. Including the years prior to Texas A&M joining the SEC, Childress has led A&M to a school-record 13 consecutive NCAA Championship appearances, six NCAA Regional titles, two conference regular-season crowns, four league tournament titles and College World Series appearances in 2011 and 2017. Under

Childress' tutelage, 72 pitchers were drafted or signed as free agents over the last 22 seasons. In the last 14 years, 30 Aggie pitchers have been selected in the first 14 rounds of the Major League Baseball draft.