The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

43 SEC student-athletes named to preseason watch lists

198 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (July 20, 2020)-----A total of 43 SEC football student-athletes were named to preseason watch lists last week by various award organizations. The 43 student-athletes represent 13 different SEC schools.

Eleven SEC players were named to the Bednarik Award Watch List. The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented annually to the outstanding defensive player in college football, and three SEC players have been named winner of the Bednarik Award since 2016.

The Biletnikoff Award watch list includes nine SEC players. The award recognizes the college football season's outstanding FBS receiver, regardless of position. SEC players have won the Biletnikoff Award in each of the last two seasons, including returning LSU receiver Ja'Marr Chase in 2019.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien Award Watch List includes five SEC quarterbacks after Joe Burrow of LSU won the award in 2019.

The Doak Walker Award, which honors the nation's top running back, included nine SEC players on its preseason watch list. An SEC player has claimed the Doak Walker Award five times, most recently Alabama's Derrick Henry in 2015.

The John Mackey Award is presented annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, and nine SEC tight ends were included on the Mackey Award Watch List. The Mackey Award has been presented each year since 2000, and the group of past winners includes four from the SEC.

Watch lists for other national awards are scheduled to be announced prior to the start of the season. A compilation of SEC players named to the five aforementioned watch lists follows:

Bednarik Award

  • Nick Bolton, Missouri
  • K.J. Britt, Auburn
  • Jabril Cox, LSU
  • Richard LeCounte, Georgia
  • Dylan Moses, Alabama
  • JaCoby Stevens, LSU
  • Derek Stingley, LSU
  • Eric Stokes, Georgia
  • Patrick Surtain, Alabama
  • Henry To'o To'o, Tennessee
  • Jamar Watson, Kentucky

Biletnikoff Award

  • Jhamon Ausbon, Texas A&M
  • Ja'Marr Chase, LSU
  • Terrace Marshall Jr., LSU
  • Elijah Moore, Ole Miss
  • George Pickens, Georgia
  • Kyle Pitts, Florida
  • DeVonta Smith, Alabama
  • Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
  • Seth Williams, Auburn

Davey O'Brien Award

  • Mac Jones, Alabama
  • Kellen Mond, Texas A&M
  • Jamie Newman, Georgia
  • Bo Nix, Auburn
  • Kyle Trask, Florida

Doak Walker Award

  • Rakeem Boyd, Arkansas
  • James Cook, Georgia
  • Eric Gray, Tennessee
  • Najee Harris, Alabama
  • Kylin Hill, Mississippi State
  • Larry Rountree III, Missouri
  • Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M
  • Zamir White, Georgia
  • D.J. Williams, Auburn

Mackey Award

  • Kyle Pitts, Florida
  • Arik Gilbert, LSU
  • Tre McKitty, Georgia
  • Carl Tucker, Alabama
  • Justin Riggs, Kentucky
  • Kenny Yeboah, Ole Miss
  • Daniel Parker, Missouri
  • Jaylen Wydermyer, Texas A&M
  • Nick Muse, South Carolina