The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2021 SEC Men's Basketball Preseason Teams Announced

172 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Charlie Neibergall/AP Photo

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference unveiled its 17th annual men's basketball coaches preseason All-SEC first and second teams Thursday, tipping off the 2020-21 season.

Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, South Carolina and Tennessee each have multiple selections. In all, 34 different players received votes for the coaches' teams.

The coaches' preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC basketball coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.

The 2020-21 campaign begins November 25, with conference play set to begin December 29. The 2021 SEC Tournament will be March 10-14 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

A list of the 2021 SEC Men's Basketball Coaches Preseason All-SEC team follows:

First Team All-SEC

John Petty Jr. - Alabama

Keyontae Johnson - Florida

Brandon Boston Jr. - Kentucky

Javonte Smart - LSU

Trendon Watford - LSU

AJ Lawson - South Carolina

John Fulkerson - Tennessee

Yves Pons - Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Herbert Jones - Alabama

Desi Sills - Arkansas

Scottie Lewis - Florida

Olivier Sarr - Kentucky

Devontae Shuler - Ole Miss

Dru Smith - Missouri

Jermaine Couisnard - South Carolina

Savion Flagg - Texas A&M

Scotty Pippen, Jr. - Vanderbilt