The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Media tabs South Carolina as 2021 SEC Champion

682 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Todd Van Emst/SEC

Birmingham, Ala. - South Carolina was predicted to win the 2021 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Gamecocks enter the 2020-21 season as the AP Preseason No. 1 for the first time in program history, extending a stretch of 11 weeks in the top spot of that poll as the Gamecocks closed the 2019-20 campaign in the same position.

South Carolina tops the order of finish, with Mississippi State, Kentucky, Texas A&M, Arkansas, Tennessee, and LSU rounding out the top half the league. Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Missouri, Vanderbilt, Auburn and Ole Miss round out the bottom half.

Kentucky's Rhyne Howard was the overwhelming choice for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year. South Carolina's Aliyah Boston also received votes.

Joining Howard and Boston on the All-SEC team are Unique Thompson, Auburn; Rickea Jackson, Mississippi State; Rennia Davis, Tennessee and N'dea Jones, Texas A&M. A tie resulted in a six-member team.

Preseason Media Poll

Order of Finish

1. South Carolina

2. Mississippi State

3. Kentucky

4. Texas A&M

5. Arkansas

6. Tennessee

7. LSU

8. Georgia

9. Alabama

10. Florida

11. Missouri

12. Vanderbilt

13. Auburn

14. Ole Miss

Player of the Year

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Preseason All-SEC

Unique Thompson, Auburn

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Rickea Jackson, Mississippi State

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Rennia Davis, Tennessee

N'dea Jones, Texas A&M