The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Diving, Women's Swimming Starts Wednesday

16 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Georgia Athletics

The 2021 SEC Men's and Women's Diving Championships at the Mizzou Aquatics Center in Columbia, Mo. and the 2021 SEC Women's Swimming Championship at the Gabrielsen Natatorium in Athens, Ga. are set to take place February 17-20.

This marks the first time in 35 years that the SEC Championships will be held at separate venues. In 1986, the women's swimming & diving championship was held in Knoxville, Tenn. and the men's championship in Baton Rouge, La.

Men's and women's diving will start on Wednesday, February 17 with the women's 1-meter. On Thursday, February 18, the championship will feature the women's 3-meter and the men's 1-meter. The women's platform and men's 3-meter events are slated for Friday, February 19, and the championship will conclude on Saturday, February 20 with men's platform. Team scores from men's and women's diving will be applied to the team scores at women's swimming this week and men's swimming on February 23-26.

In women's swimming, the championship will start on Wednesday with time trials along with the 200 medley relay and the 800 free relay. Thursday's schedule includes the 500 free, 200 IM, 50 free and 200 free relay. On Friday, events include the 400 IM, 100 fly, 200 free, 100 breaststroke, 100 back and 400 medley relay. Saturday is the final day of the championship with the 1650 free, 200 back, 100 free, 200 breaststroke, 200 fly and 400 free relay.

All sessions of the SEC Men's and Women's Diving Championships and the SEC Women's Swimming Championship will be available to view live on SEC Network+.

Last year, Tennessee won its first-ever SEC title in women's swimming & diving with a final score of 1,108 points. Florida came in second with 1079.50 points, and Kentucky took third with 987.50 points. Other previous winners include Florida (1981-84, 1986-96, 2002, 2009), Georgia (1997-2001, 2006, 2010-15), Auburn (2003-05, 2007-08), Texas A&M (2016-19) and Alabama (1985).