The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2021 SEC Women's Tennis Awards Announced

465 days ago
Photo: SEC

Birmingham, Ala. - The 2021 women's tennis first and second team All-SEC, All-Freshman team, and the yearly awards have been announced by the conference office.

Georgia's Jeff Wallace was named SEC Coach of the Year. Georgia is currently 20-1 overall and ended the conference season 13-0. The team won both the SEC title and SEC Tournament title.

Ranked as the No. 1 singles player in the country for two weeks this season, Georgia's Katarina Jokic was named Player of the Year. She boasts an undefeated dual match record of 15-0, including 9-0 in SEC competition. In doubles play she is 5-0 against top-10 opponents this year, including a win over the No. 1 ranked duo in the country of Akvile Parazinskaite and Fiona Arrese. She finished the fall going 13-3 with eight singles wins and six doubles wins. She was named SEC Player of the Week four times this season, the most by any women's tennis athlete since the weekly honors began in 2000.

Freshman of the Year was awarded to Arkansas' Indianna Spink. Currently ranked No. 42 in singles play, 9th best in the SEC and the only freshman in the top 10 in the league. Headed into the SEC Tournament with an impressive 15-8 overall record and 9-5 dual record. She has played the entirety of the conference season at the number one and two spots, accumulating a 5-2 record. Spink is the only player to win Freshman of the Week 3 times.

Georgia's Lea Ma was named Newcomer of the Year, a new award designated for current sophomores who had their season cut short last year due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. Ma has an overall record of 14-4 after sitting out of the fall, 13-3 in dual match play and 8-1 in SEC action. In doubles, her and partner Meg Kowalski are 18-2 overall, the most wins by any duo on the team and are 15-2 in dual match action, 10-1 in SEC play. She was named SEC Newcomer of the Week for the week of Feb. 24.

A complete list of the awards follows and ties were not broken.

Player of the Year
Katarina Jokic, Georgia

Freshmen of the Year
Indianna Spink, Arkansas

Newcomer of the Year
Lea Ma, Georgia

Coach of the Year
Jeff Wallace, Georgia

First Team All-SEC
Indianna Spink, Arkansas
McCartney Kessler, Florida
Katarina Jokic, Georgia
Meg Kowalski, Georgia
Lea Ma, Georgia
Morgan Coppoc, Georgia
Akvilė Paražinskaitė, Kentucky
Fiona Arrese, Kentucky
Sabina Machalova, Ole Miss
Emma Antonaki, Mississippi State
Mia Horvit, South Carolina
Tatiana Makarova, Texas A&M
Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Alba Cortina Pou, Alabama
Selin Ovunc, Auburn
Carolyn Ansari, Auburn
Ida Jarlskog, Florida
Marlee Zein, Florida
Paris Corley, LSU
Taylor Bridges, LSU
Safiya Carrington, LSU
Tiphanie Fiquet, Ole Miss
Magda Adaloglou, Mississippi State
Bronte Murgett, Missouri
Megan Davies, South Carolina
Rebeka Mertena, Tennessee
Daria Kuczer, Tennessee

Loudmilla Bencheikh, Alabama
Anna Parkhomenko, Alabama
Indianna Spink, Arkansas
Morgan Cross, Arkansas
Sara Dahlstrom, Florida
Fiona Arrese, Kentucky
Anessa Lee, Vanderbilt