The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2021 SEC Men's Tennis Awards Announced

424 days ago
Photo: SEC

Birmingham, Ala. - The 2021 men's tennis first and second team All-SEC, All-Freshman team, and the yearly awards have been announced by the conference office.

Florida's Bryan Shelton was named SEC Coach of the Year after leading the Gators to a current 20-2 record. The Gators were crowned the SEC Champion after going 12-0 in conference play. This is the third SEC Coach of the Year for Shelton after being named in 2016 and 2019.

Texas A&M's Valentin Vacherot was named SEC Player of the Year. On the verge of breaking the Aggies all-time singles wins record, as he currently is tied for 1st with 85 dual victories. Over his time in Aggieland he has recorded an astonishing 43-6 all-time record in conference matches including a program record 19-match conference win streak. He has been ranked within the top-5 for the entire 2020-21.

Tennessee's Johannus Monday was named SEC Freshman of the Year after compiling an impressive overall singles record of 31-6, a record of 20-4 in dual play and a near unblemished ledger of 11-1 in SEC play. He finished the regular season with an incredible 13 victories over ranked opponents. Monday has also been named the league's Freshman of the Week seven times.

Kentucky's Liam Draxl was named Newcomer of the Year, a new award designated for current sophomores who had their season cut short last year due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. The No. 1 singles player in the country, Draxl was named SEC Player of the Week twice and SEC Newcomer of the Week twice. This season he went 19-2 on the top singles court with a 9-2 SEC record. He went 9-2 against ranked singles opponents, including 2-0 against nation's No. 1 singles players. He has gone undefeated in singles at home over his entire career.

A complete list of the awards follows and ties were not broken.

Player of the Year
Valentin Vacherot, Texas A&M

Freshman of the Year
Johannus Monday, Tennessee

Newcomer of the Year
Liam Draxl, Kentucky

Coach of the Year
Bryan Shelton, Florida

First Team All-SEC
Edson Ortiz, Alabama
Tyler Stice, Auburn
Sam Riffice, Florida
Duarte Vale, Florida
Andy Andrade, Florida
Liam Draxl, Kentucky
Gabriel Diallo, Kentucky
Tim Sandkaulen, Ole Miss
Finn Reynolds, Ole Miss
Daniel Rodrigues, South Carolina
Connor Thomson, South Carolina
Johannus Monday, Tennessee
Adam Walton, Tennessee
Hady Habib, Texas A&M
Valentin Vacherot, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC
Blaise Bicknell, Florida
Trent Bryde, Georgia
Philip Henning, Georgia
Tyler Zink , Georgia
Millen Hurrion, Kentucky
Ronnie Hohmann, LSU
Nikola Slavic, Ole Miss
Giovanni Oradini, Mississippi State
Florian Broska, Mississippi State
Toby Samuel, South Carolina
Carlos Aguilar, Texas A&M
George Harwell, Vanderbilt

Ben Shelton, Florida
John Hallquist Lithén, Ole Miss
Nemanja Malesevic, Mississippi State
Toby Samuel, South Carolina
Johannus Monday, Tennessee
Raphael Perot, Texas A&M