The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas Sweeps SEC Outdoor Track and Field Titles

871 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BRYAN-COLLEGE STATION, Texas (May 16, 2021)-----The Arkansas men and the Arkansas women claimed the 2021 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships Saturday at Texas A&M's E.B. Cushing Stadium.

The Arkansas men won with 129 points, followed by Alabama (109), LSU (108), Florida (74), Kentucky (70), Tennessee (67), Texas A&M (67), Georgia (48), Ole Miss (43), Auburn (30), Mississippi State (29), South Carolina (23) and Missouri (22).

The Arkansas women won with 127 points, followed by LSU (120.5), Alabama (116), Texas A&M (82), Georgia (64), Florida (62), Auburn (59), Ole Miss (55), Tennessee (38), South Carolina (29), Kentucky (28), Missouri (26) and Mississippi State (11.5)

This marks the 20th SEC outdoor title for the Arkansas men and the ninth for the Arkansas women.

LSU's Terrance Laird claimed the men's Commissioner's Trophy with 22.5 points, while Texas A&M's Tyra Gittens won the women's Commissioner's Trophy with her 23 points.

Individual champions crowned on Saturday were: Kentucky's Charles Lenford in the men's discus (59.58m/195-6); Tennessee's Jah-Nhai Perinchief in the men's triple jump (16.89/55-5); Ole Miss' Tedreauna Britt in the women's discus (54.46m/178-8); Kentucky's Keaton Daniel in the men's pole vault (5.70m/18-8.25); LSU in the men's 4x100-meter relay (38.87); LSU in the women's 4x100-meter relay (42.52); Georgia's Jasmine Moore in the triple jump (14.39m/47-2.5); Alabama's Eliud Kipsang in the men's 1500m (3:37.99); Florida's Gabrielle Wilkinson in the women's 1500m (4:15.28); Alabama's Robert Dunning in the men's 110m hurdles (13.15); South Carolina's Rachel Glenn in the women's high jump (1.89m/6-2.25); LSU's Tonea Marshall in the women's 100m hurdles (12.62); LSU's Noah Williams in the men's 400m (44.37); Texas A&M's Athing Mu in the women's 400m (49.84); LSU's Terrance Laird in the men's 100m (9.80); Alabama's Tamara Clark in the women's 100m (10.87); Texas A&M's Brandon Miller in the men's 800m (1:45.95); Georgia's Amber Tanner in the women's 800m (2:02.94); Texas A&M's Moitalel Mpoke in the men's 400m hurdles (48.89); LSU's Brittley Humphrey in the women's 400m hurdles (56.14); LSU's Terrance Laird in the men's 200m with a meet record 19.82; Alabama's Tamara Clark in the women's 200m (21.89); Arkansas' Amon Kemboi in the men's 5000m (13:52.98); Alabama's Mercy Chelangat in the women's 5000m (15:45.32); Kentucky in the men's 4x400-meter relay (3:01.71); and Texas A&M in the women's 4x400-meter relay (3:26.17).

Individual champions crowned Friday were: LSU's Emma Robbins in the women's hammer (67.17m/220-4), Texas A&M's Deborah Acquah in the women's long jump (6.80m/22-3.75), LSU's JuVaughn Harrison in the men's high jump (2.36m/7-8.75), Arkansas' Nastassja Campbell in the women's pole vault (4.54m/14-10.75), Alabama's Isaac Odugbesan in the men's shot put (20.22m/66-4.25), Tennessee's Carey McLeod in the men's long jump (8.34m/27-4.5), Tennessee's Latavia Maines (18.71m/61-3.75), Alabama's Vincent Kiprop in the men's 3000m Steeplechase (8:47.18) and Arkansas' Krissy Gear in the women's 3000m Steeplechase (9:38.62).

Georgia's Kyle Garland won the men's decathlon with 8,196 points, while Tyra Gittens of Texas A&M won the women's heptathlon with a meet record 6,418 total points.

Thursday's individual winners were: Alabama's Vincent Kiprop in the men's 10,000m (28:55.56), Florida's Thomas Mardal in the men's hammer (74.78m/245-4), Mississippi State's DJ Jonsson in the men's javelin (78.66m/258-1), Alabama's Mercy Chelangat in the women's 10,000m with a meet record (32:13:13) and Georgia's Marie-Therese Obst in the women's javelin (57.29m/187-11).