The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Smith and Lilley Named 2020-21 Roy F. Kramer Recipients

26 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Alabama football athlete DeVonta Smith and Kentucky volleyball player Madison Lilley have been named the 2020-2021 Roy F. Kramer SEC Male and Female Athletes of the Year by a vote of the league's athletics directors, Commissioner Greg Sankey announced today.

"We are proud to honor DeVonta and Madison, who not only excelled in the SEC but were also recognized as the best in their sport across the country. They are the ultimate examples of what it means to be a student-athlete in the Southeastern Conference," said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. "DeVonta and Madison both were members of national championship teams and recipients of their sport's national player of the year award. Each has competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics, benefitted from the world-class support provided by their universities and, through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence, have reached the pinnacle of collegiate athletic success. Congratulations to DeVonta and Madison and thank you for being part of the SEC!"

Amite, La., native, DeVonta Smith, led the country in receptions, receiving touchdowns and receiving yards.

He led the Crimson Tide to a perfect 13-0 season, including a 52-24 College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship victory over Ohio State. Smith was named the Offensive Most Outstanding Player of the championship game after setting championship game records for the most receptions (12) and receiving touchdowns (three) while accounting for 215 of the Tide's 464 receiving yards, all of which came in the first half.

Smith was honored with the Heisman Trophy, the AP National Player of the Year award, as well as CBS Sports, Maxwell Football Club, The Sporting News and Walter Camp Player of the Year. He was also a unanimous First-Team All-American and the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

Smith holds the SEC and Alabama career record for receiving touchdowns and receiving yards. He owns four- and five-touchdown games, making him the only receiver in SEC history with multiple career games totaling four or more receiving scores.

Lilley helped Kentucky capture its first NCAA volleyball national championship with 53 assists, and a career-high 19 digs vs. Texas in the title match. During the tournament, Lilley averaged 13.8 assists per set, had six aces in UK's five matches, and was second on the team with 3.35 digs per set.

The Overland Park, Kansas native, won the 2020 SEC Player of the Year award, American Volleyball Coaches' Association National Player of the Year award, was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Tournament and won the Honda Award for the sport of volleyball.

One of four finalists for the Best Female College Athlete ESPY Award, she led the nation in assists and broke the UK career record for assists.

The other male nominees were: Kevin Kopps, Arkansas (baseball); Ryan Bliss, Auburn (baseball); Kieran Smith, Florida (swimming & diving); Karel Tilga, Georgia (track & field); Liam Draxl, Kentucky (tennis); JuVaughn Harrison, LSU (track & field); Elijah Moore, Ole Miss (football); Tanner Allen, Mississippi State (baseball); Danny Kovac, Missouri (swimming & diving); Daniel Rodrigues, South Carolina (tennis); Adam Walton, Tennessee (tennis); Shaine Casas, Texas A&M (swimming & diving); Kumar Rocker, Vanderbilt (baseball).

The other female nominees were: Mercy Chelangat, Alabama (cross country); Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas (basketball); Joyce Kimeli, Auburn (track & field); Trinity Thomas, Florida (gymnastics); Katarina Jokic, Georgia (tennis); Haleigh Bryant, LSU (gymnastics); Julia Johnson, Ole Miss (golf); Shayla Broughton, Mississippi State (track & field); Brooke Wilmes, Missouri (softball); Aliyah Boston, South Carolina (basketball); Latavia Maines, Tennessee (track & field); Tyra Gittens, Texas A&M (track & field); Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt (tennis).

The SEC Athletes of the Year Awards were first presented in 1976 for men and 1984 for women. The award was renamed the Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year in 2004 to honor the former Commissioner who served the conference from 1990-2002.

Past recipients of the SEC Athlete of the Year Award include: 2020 - Joe Burrow, LSU (football) and Tyasha Harris, South Carolina (basketball); 2019 - Grant Holloway, Florida (track & field) and Maria Fassi, Arkansas (golf); 2018 - Caeleb Dressel, Florida (swimming) and A'ja Wilson, South Carolina (basketball); 2017 - Brent Rooker, Mississippi State (baseball) and Kendell Williams, Georgia (track & field); 2016 - Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas (track & field) and Bridget Sloan, Florida (gymnastics); 2015 - Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas (baseball) and Lauren Haeger, Florida (softball); 2014 - AJ Reed, Kentucky (baseball) and Hannah Rogers, Florida (softball); 2013 - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (football) and Allison Schmitt, Georgia (swimming); 2012 - Anthony Davis, Kentucky (basketball) and Brooke Pancake, Alabama (golf); 2011 - John-Patrick Smith, Tennessee (tennis) and Kayla Hoffman, Alabama (gymnastics); 2010 - Mark Ingram, Alabama (football) and Susan Jackson, LSU (gymnastics); 2009 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Courtney Kupets, Georgia (gymnastics); 2008 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Candace Parker, Tennessee (basketball); 2007 - David Price, Vanderbilt (baseball) and Monica Abbott, Tennessee (softball); 2006 - Xavier Carter, LSU (track & field) and Seimone Augustus, LSU (basketball); 2005 - Ryan Lochte, Florida (swimming) and Kirsty Coventry, Auburn (swimming); 2004 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and Jeana Rice, Alabama (gymnastics); 2003 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State (basketball); 2002 - Walter Davis, LSU (track & field) and Andree' Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics); 2001 - Matias Boeker, Georgia (tennis) and Amy Yoder Begley, Arkansas (cross country/track); 2000 - Kip Bouknight , South Carolina (baseball) and Kristy Kowal, Georgia (swimming); 1999 - Tim Couch, Kentucky (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1998 - Peyton Manning, Tennessee (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1997 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Trinity Johnson, South Carolina (softball); 1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Saudia Roundtree, Georgia (basketball); 1995 - Todd Helton, Tennessee (baseball) and Jenny Hansen, Kentucky (gymnastics); 1994 - Corliss Williamson, Arkansas (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1993 - Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1992 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Vicki Goetze, Georgia (golf); 1991 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Daedra Charles, Tennessee (basketball); 1990 - Alec Kessler, Georgia (basketball) and Dee Foster, Alabama (gymnastics); 1989 - Derrick Thomas, Alabama (football) and Bridgette Gordon, Tennessee (basketball); 1988 - Will Perdue, Vanderbilt (basketball) and Dara Torres, Florida (swimming); 1987 - Cornelius Bennett, Alabama (football) and Lillie Leatherwood-King, Alabama (track and field); 1986 - Bo Jackson, Auburn (football) and Jennifer Gillom, Ole Miss (basketball); 1985 - Will Clark, Mississippi State (baseball) and Penney Hauschild, Alabama (gymnastics); 1984 - Terry Hoage, Georgia (football) and Tracy Caulkins, Florida (swimming); 1983 - Herschel Walker, Georgia (football/track and field); 1982 - Buck Belue, Georgia (football/baseball); 1981 - Rowdy Gaines, Auburn (swimming); 1980 - Kyle Macy, Kentucky (basketball); 1979 - Reggie King, Alabama (basketball); 1978 - Jack Givens, Kentucky (basketball); 1977 - Larry Seivers, Tennessee (football); and 1976 - Harvey Glance, Auburn (track and field).