The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas' Kevin Kopps Wins Golden Spikes Award

17 days ago
Photo: Arkansas Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (July 15, 2021)-----Arkansas pitcher Kevin Kopps has been named winner of the 2021 Golden Spikes Award, which is presented by USA Baseball to the nation's top amateur baseball player.

Kopps finished the 2021 campaign with a 12-1 record and 11 saves and helped lead the Razorbacks to the SEC championship and the SEC Tournament title and a No. 1 national ranking for most of the regular season. He posted the nation's lowest ERA (0.90) and WHIP (0.76) with 131 strikeouts in 89.2 innings pitched.

Earlier this year, Kopps was named winner of the Dick Howser Trophy and was voted the SEC Pitcher of the Year by the league's head coaches.

Kopps was one of three finalists for the award along with Vanderbilt's Jack Leiter and Kumar Rocker. This marked the second time that all finalists were from the same conference. All four of the Golden Spikes Award finalists in 2015 were also from the SEC.

A third round pick by the San Diego Padres in this week's Major League Baseball Draft, Kopps is the ninth SEC player to win the Golden Spikes Award and the first since Arkansas' Andrew Benintendi in 2015.

Golden Spikes Award Winners
1978: Bob Horner Arizona State University
1979: Tim Wallach, Cal State Fullerton
1980: Terry Francona, University of Arizona
1981: Mike Fuentes, Florida State University
1982: Augie Schmidt, University of New Orleans
1983: Dave Magadan, University of Alabama
1984: Oddibe McDowell, Arizona State University
1985: Will Clark, Mississippi State University
1986: Mike Loynd, Florida State University
1987: Jim Abbott, University of Michigan
1988: Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State University
1989: Ben McDonald, LSU
1990: Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College
1991: Mike Kelly, Arizona State University
1992: Phil Nevin, Cal State Fullerton
1993: Darren Dreifort, Wichita State University
1994: Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech
1995: Mark Kotsay, Cal State Fullerton
1996: Travis Lee, San Diego State University
1997: J.D. Drew, Florida State University
1998: Pat Burrell, University of Miami
1999: Jason Jennings, Baylor University
2000: Kip Bouknight, University of South Carolina
2001: Mark Prior, University of Southern California
2002: Khalil Greene, Clemson University
2003: Rickie Weeks, Southern University
2004: Jered Weaver, Long Beach State University
2005: Alex Gordon, University of Nebraska
2006: Tim Lincecum, University of Washington
2007: David Price, Vanderbilt University
2008: Buster Posey, Florida State University
2009: Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State University
2010: Bryce Harper, College of Southern Nevada
2011: Trevor Bauer, UCLA
2012: Mike Zunino, University of Florida
2013: Kris Bryant, University of San Diego
2014: AJ Reed, University of Kentucky
2015: Andrew Benintendi, University of Arkansas
2016: Kyle Lewis, Mercer University
2017: Brendan McKay, University of Louisville
2018: Andrew Vaughn, University of California
2019: Adley Rutschman, Oregon State University
2020: Not awarded
2021: Kevin Kopps, University of Arkansas