The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Media picks Kentucky to win 2022 SEC title

855 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

Birmingham, Ala. (October 19, 2021) - Kentucky was predicted to win the 2022 Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

Vanderbilt sophomore guard Scotty Pippen Jr. was the choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year. Alabama's Jaden Shackelford & Jahvon Quinerly; Arkansas' JD Notae; Kentucky's Keion Brooks Jr., Kellan Grady & Sahvir Wheeler; and Tennessee's Kennedy Chandler also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

Pippen, Shackelford, Quinerly and Wheeler were each All-SEC First Team selections in addition to Florida's Colin Castleton and Mississippi State's Iverson Molinar. Brooks and Grady were second team picks along with Arkansas' Davonte Davis, Auburn's Jabari Smith, Kentucky's Oscar Tshiebwe and LSU's Darius Days.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team. Ties were not broken.

The 2021-22 campaign begins November 9, with conference play set to begin December 29. The 2022 SEC Tournament will be March 9-13 at Amalie Arena in Tampa Bay, Fla.

First Team All-SEC
Jaden Shackelford - Alabama
Jahvon Quinerly - Alabama
Colin Castleton - Florida
Sahvir Wheeler - Kentucky
Iverson Molinar - Mississippi State
Scotty Pippen Jr. - Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Davonte Davis - Arkansas
Jabari Smith - Auburn
Keion Brooks Jr. - Kentucky
Kellan Grady - Kentucky
Oscar Tshiebwe - Kentucky
Darius Days - LSU

SEC Player of the Year
Scotty Pippen Jr. - Vanderbilt

Preseason Media Poll
1. Kentucky
2. Alabama
3. Arkansas
4. Tennessee
5. Auburn
6. LSU
7. Florida
8. Mississippi State
9. Ole Miss
10. Missouri
11. South Carolina
12. Texas A&M
13. Vanderbilt
14. Georgia