The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Coaches Tab USC as 2022 SEC Women's Basketball Champion

702 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Phil Ellsworth | ESPN Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - South Carolina is predicted to win the 2022 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a vote of the league's coaches.

South Carolina tops the order of finish, with Texas A&M, Tennessee, Georgia, Kentucky, Ole Miss, and Arkansas rounding out the top half the league. LSU, Mississippi State, Missouri, Florida, Alabama, Auburn and Vanderbilt round out the bottom half.

The Wildcat's Rhyne Howard was voted as SEC Women's Basketball Preseason Player of the Year. South Carolina's Aliyah Boston also received votes.

Joining Howard and Boston on the All-SEC Preseason First Team are Lavender Briggs, Florida; Khayla Pointer, LSU; Shakira Austin, Ole Miss; Rickea Jackson, Mississippi State; Zia Cooke, South Carolina; Rae Burrell, Tennessee and

The Preseason Second Team All-SEC is comprised of Amber Ramirez, Arkansas; Kiara Smith, Florida; Que Morrison, Georgia; Jenna Staiti, Georgia; Aijha Blackwell, Missouri; Destanni Henderson, South Carolina; Tamari Key, Tennessee; Jordan Nixon, Texas A&M and Kayla Wells, Texas A&M.

Coaches cannot vote for their own team or players and ties are not broken.

The 2022 season officially tips on Tuesday, November 9.

Preseason Coaches' Predictions

Order of Finish

1. South Carolina

2. Texas A&M

3. Tennessee

4. Georgia

5. Kentucky

6. Ole Miss

7. Arkansas

8. LSU

9. Mississippi State

10. Missouri

11. Florida

12. Alabama

13. Auburn

14. Vanderbilt

Player of the Year

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

First Team All-SEC

Lavender Briggs, Florida

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Khayla Pointer, LSU

Shakira Austin, Ole Miss

Rickea Jackson, Mississippi State

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Zia Cooke, South Carolina

Rae Burrell, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Amber Ramirez, Arkansas

Kiara Smith, Florida

Que Morrison, Georgia

Jenna Staiti, Georgia

Aijha Blackwell, Missouri

Destanni Henderson, South Carolina

Tamari Key, Tennessee

Jordan Nixon, Texas A&M

Kayla Wells, Texas A&M