The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

53 SEC Cross Country Runners Earn All-Region Honors

377 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Cassie Florido

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Nov. 15, 2021)-----A total of 53 Southeastern Conference cross country runners earned All-Region honors following their performances at the NCAA Regional Championships, it was announced Monday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

A total of 225 men from 88 different programs and 225 women from 103 different programs earned All-Region distinction by virtue of a top-25 finish at one of the nine regional sites this past weekend. Only athletes from USTFCCCA member institutions are eligible for awards.

Six SEC teams have advanced to the NCAA Championships, according to an announcement Saturday by the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field and Cross Country Committee.

The Alabama, Arkansas and Ole Miss men's and women's teams will compete in the NCAA Championships Nov. 20 at Tallahassee, Fla. In addition, six SEC female runners and two male runners not on advancing teams earned bids to compete in the championships.

The Arkansas and Ole Miss men's and women's teams and the Alabama men's team earned automatic bids by placing in the top-two of their respective NCAA Regionals on Friday. The Alabama women's squad earned an at-large bid.

The eight SEC student-athletes who will compete individuals are: Parker Valby (Florida), Sydney Seymour (Tennessee), Joyce Kimeli (Auburn), Katy-Ann McDonald (LSU), Tori Herman (Kentucky) and Perri Bockrath (Kentucky) in the women's championship, and Sam Bowers (Georgia) and Karl Thiessen (Tennessee) in the men's championship.

Men's All-Region Honors (SEC)

Hillary Cheruiyot, Alabama

Victor Kiprop, Alabama

Eliud Kipsang, Alabama

Gilbert Boit, Arkansas

Emmanuel Cheboson, Arkansas

Amon Kemboi, Arkansas

Andrew Kibet, Arkansas

Ryan Murphy, Arkansas

Myles Richter, Arkansas

Ryan Kinnane, Auburn

Sam Bowers, Georgia

Davis Bove, LSU

Mitchell Small, Missouri

Cade Bethmann, Ole Miss

Cole Bullock, Ole Miss

Michael Coccia, Ole Miss

Dereck Elkins, Ole Miss

Mario Garcia Romo, Ole Miss

Nick Moulai, Ole Miss

Ben Savino, Ole Miss

Karl Thiessen, Tennessee

Matthew Estopinal, Vanderbilt

Nick Laning, Vanderbilt

Women's All-Region Honors (SEC)

Flomena Asekol, Alabama

Mercy Chelangat, Alabama

Esther Gitahi, Alabama

Lauren Gregory, Arkansas

Gracie Hyde, Arkansas

Logan Jolly, Arkansas

Julia Paternain, Arkansas

Meghan Underwood, Arkansas

Isabel Van Camp, Arkansas

Joyce Kimeli, Auburn

Stephanie Ormsby, Florida

Parker Valby, Florida

Samantha Drop, Georgia

Perri Bockrath, Kentucky

Jenna Gearing, Kentucky

Tori Herman, Kentucky

Katy-Ann McDonald, LSU

Lorena Rangel Batres, LSU

Sarah Chapman, Missouri

Anna Elkin, Ole Miss

Ryann Helmers, Ole Miss

Clio Ozanne-Jaques, Ole Miss

Kristel van den Berg, Ole Miss

Sintayehu Vissa, Ole Miss

Olivia Janke, Tennessee

Sydney Seymour, Tennessee

Katie Thronson, Tennessee

Julia Black, Texas A&M

Abbey Santoro, Texas A&M

McKenzie Yanek, Vanderbilt