The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Seven SEC Teams to Compete in Volleyball Postseason

375 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Kentucky Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (November 28, 2021) - Seven teams from the Southeastern Conference are set to compete in the postseason for women's volleyball.

Six SEC programs will represent the conference in the 2021 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship, and Arkansas will participate in in the Women's National Invitational Volleyball Championship (NIVC).

Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification to the NCAA Championship, while the remaining 32 positions were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. Kentucky and Florida earned national seeds, with the Wildcats tabbed as the No. 7 seed and the Gators as the No. 16 seed. Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina and Tennessee all earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Championship.

The NCAA first- and second-round matches will be played December 2-4 at 16 campus sites. Teams winning both matches will continue to regional play December 9 and 11. Regionals for the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship will be held at four non-predetermined campus sites, which will be announced on December 5. At each site, four teams will compete in single-elimination regional semifinal competition. The regional winners will advance to the national semifinals and championship final, hosted by The Ohio State University in conjunction with the Columbus Sports Commission on December 16-18 at Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio. The national semifinal matches will broadcast on ESPN, and the championship match will broadcast on ESPN2.

Kentucky (24-4), the 2021 SEC Champion and the defending NCAA Champion, will host Illinois, West Virginia and Southeast Missouri State for the Lexington Sub-Regional at Memorial Coliseum. Illinois will play West Virginia in the first match on Friday, December 3 at 5 p.m. ET, followed by Kentucky versus SEMO at 7:30 p.m. The winners from Friday will then compete in the second round on Saturday, December 4 at 5 p.m. ET.

Florida (20-8) will host its NCAA first- and second-Round matches on Thursday, December 2 and Friday, December 3. The Gators extend their streak to 31 consecutive NCAA Championship appearances, the third-longest streak in the nation. Florida will face Florida A&M on Thursday at 7 p.m. ET, preceded by Miami versus South Alabama at 4:30 p.m. The winners of each match will face on another on Friday at 7 p.m. ET.

Ole Miss (21-8) will appear in the NCAA Championship for the fourth time in program history and the first time since 2010. The Rebels will travel to Omaha, Neb. to take on No. 14 Creighton in the first round on Thursday, December 2 at 7 p.m. CT. Kansas and Oregon will compete at 5 p.m. CT in the other first-round match. The winners of those matches are slated to compete in the second round on Friday, December 3 at 7 p.m. CT.

Mississippi State (25-5) earned its first NCAA Tournament appearance in program history and is headed to Seattle for the first and second rounds. Mississippi State will open play against Hawai'i on Friday, December 3 at Alaska Airlines Arena at 6:30 p.m. CT, followed by No. 15 Washington versus Brown at 9 p.m. The second-round match in Seattle is scheduled for 9 p.m. CT on Saturday, December 4.

South Carolina (14-14) will make its third trip to the NCAA tournament in the last four years, traveling to Atlanta, Ga. to face Western Kentucky in the first round on Friday, December 3 at 4:30 p.m. ET. No. 8 Georgia Tech and The Citadel will play in the next match that evening at 7 p.m. ET. The winners of Friday's matches will compete on Saturday, December 4 at 7 p.m. ET.

Tennessee (19-9) is set to make its 16th appearance in the NCAA Championship, traveling to Columbus, Ohio, for the first two rounds. UT faces North Carolina in the first round on Friday, December 3 at 5 p.m. ET, followed by Howard against No. 9 Ohio State at 7 p.m. The winners will then compete on Saturday, December 4 at 6 p.m. ET.

In addition, Arkansas (19-10) received the only first-round bye in the Women's NIVC. The Razorbacks will face the winner of Jackson State vs. Stephen F. Austin on Saturday, December 4 at 6:30 p.m. CT in Nacogdoches, Texas. The tournament is a single-elimination event with all games played at sites of host schools. The third round will be December 6-8, along with the semifinals December 8-11 and the title match on December 13 or 14.