The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC teams still busy in bowl games

49 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: ESPN Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.(December 5, 2021) - A record thirteen Southeastern Conference football teams learned their post-season bowl destinations in early Decembrer, including two teams in the College Football Playoff semifinals and a total of three teams in the CFP's New Year's Six Games.

Twelve are still set to particpate or have already played, although Texas A&M earlier had to back out of a Gator Bowl date with Wake Forest becasue of widespread COVID-19 infections on the team.

No. 1-ranked Alabama defeated No. 4 Cincinnati in a CFP semifinal game at the Goodyear Cotton Bowl in Arlington while No. 3-ranked Georgia downed No. 2 Michigan in the other CFP semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl. Both CFP semifinal games were played Friday.

In another New Year's Six Game, Ole Miss will be the SEC's representative in the Allstate Sugar Bowl on January 1, facing Big 12 opponent Baylor.

The VRBO Citrus Bowl selected Kentucky from the SEC to play Iowa of the Big Ten.

This marks the eighth year the Conference has assigned league schools to an "SEC Bowl Pool" that includes six postseason games. The SEC Bowl Pool includes the TaxAct Texas Bowl in Houston, the TransPerfct Music City Bowl in Nashville, the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis, the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl in Jacksonville (which Texas A&M since has backed out of) , the Outback Bowl in Tampa and the Duke's Mayo Bowl in Charlotte.

The SEC Bowl Pool participants are determined after conversations with bowl partners and discussions with school personnel in order to create a lineup of compelling bowl games. This process, as approved by the institutions of the SEC, provides an opportunity to create intriguing matchups and varying assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations.

Tennessee played in the TransPerfect Music City Bowl, Arkansas will play in the Outback Bowl, LSU will play in the TaxAct Texas Bowl, Mississippi State will play in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl and South Carolina will play in the Duke's Mayo Bowl.

Following the SEC Bowl Pool, the TicketSmarter Birmingham Bowl chose Auburn, the Union Home Mortgage Gasparilla Bowl in Tampa selected Florida and the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl in Fort Worth chose Missouri.

Here is a list of the bowls involving SEC teams, along with the results to date:

COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS

  • Goodyear Cotton Bowl (Arlington) - Dec. 31 - Final: Alabama 27, Cincinnati 6
  • Capital One Orange Bowl (Miami) - Dec. 31 - Final: Georgia 34, Michigan 11

SEC-AFFILIATED JAN. 1 BOWLS:

  • VRBO Citrus Bowl (Orlando) - Kentucky vs. Iowa - Jan. 1 - 1 pm ET / Noon CT - ABC
  • Allstate Sugar Bowl (New Orleans) - Ole Miss vs. Baylor - Jan. 1 - 8:45 pm ET / 7:45 pm CT - ESPN

SEC Bowl Pool:

  • AutoZone Liberty Bowl (Memphis) - Dec. 28 - Final: Texas Tech 34, Mississippi State 7
  • Duke's Mayo Bowl (Charlotte) - Dec. 30 - Final: South Carolina 38, North Carolina 21
  • TransPerfect Music City Bowl (Nashville) - Dec. 30 - Final: Purdue 48, Tennessee 45
  • Outback Bowl (Tampa) -Arkansas vs. Penn State - Jan. 1 - Noon ET / 11 am CT - ESPN2
  • TaxAct Texas Bowl (Houston) - LSU vs. Kansas State - Jan. 4 - 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT - ESPN

Additional SEC-Affiliated Bowls:

  • Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (Fort Worth) - Dec. 22 - Final: Army 24, Missouri 22
  • Union Home Mortgage Gasparilla Bowl (Tampa) - Dec. 23 - Final: UCF 29, Florida 27
  • TicketSmarter Birmingham Bowl (Birmingham) -  Dec. 28 - Final: Houston, 17, Auburn 13