The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC Announces Three 2022 Football Season Date Changes

83 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Stacy Revere | Getty Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (April 14, 2022) - The Southeastern Conference announced on Thursday date changes for three football games scheduled for the 2022 season, including two shifting to Thursday night the opening week of the season.

Missouri's season opener versus Louisiana Tech and Tennessee's game versus Ball State will move to Thursday night, September 1. Both games were originally scheduled for Saturday, September 3.

The Volunteers will kick off the season at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT on SEC Network, while the Tigers' season opener will begin at 7 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

In addition, Missouri's home game versus Arkansas will be played on Friday, November 25 at 2:30 p.m. CT/3:30 p.m. ET and will be televised on CBS Sports.

As previously announced, the season begins with one game on August 27 when Vanderbilt visits Hawaii.

Additional kickoff times and television network announcements for the first three weeks of the 2022 SEC Football season will be determined in early June.

The 2022 season will culminate with the SEC Championship Game in Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta on Saturday, December 3. It will be the 31st edition of the game and the 29th in the city of Atlanta.