The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2022 SEC Women's Tennis Awards Announced

334 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Walt Beazley/SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (April 28, 2022) -- The Southeastern Conference announced the 2022 women's tennis postseason awards Thursday.

Texas A&M's Mark Weaver was named SEC Coach of the Year. Weaver is in his seventh year as the head coach of the Aggies. TAMU is currently 30-1 overall and ended the conference season 13-0. The team won both the SEC title and SEC Tournament title.

Currently ranked as the No. 12 singles player in the country, Florida's McCartney Kessler was named Player of the Year. She recorded the best singles record for UF at 19-7 (17-5 in dual matches; 12-1 in SEC). She won 13-straight singles victories from 2/12-4/8 and earned a team-best 13 ranked-victories. She claimed two top-10 singles victories. Kessler went 16-6 in doubles contests (15-5 in dual matches; 8-3 SEC), going 8-4 at the top position and 7-1 at three, while earning three ranked wins. She was named the SEC Player of the Week on 4/18 and owns the 37th-most total victories in Florida history with 176.

Freshman of the Year was awarded to South Carolina's Sarah Hamner. Currently the top SEC singles player at No. 5 in rankings, she is 33-8 in singles with a 15-5 dual match record going 8-3 in SEC play all from the top position. She set a program record when she became the first No. 1 singles player in program history on 2/24 and she is the first Gamecock since 2009 with 30 or more singles wins in a season. She went 20-8 vs. nationally ranked opponents in singles and won the ITA All-American National Championship in the fall.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year were chosen by the league's 14 coaches. Coaches cannot vote for their own team or players and ties are not broken.

A complete list of the awards follows.

First Team All-SEC

Loudmilla Bencheikh, Alabama

Tatum Rice, Arkansas

Carolyn Ansari, Auburn

Ariana Arseneault, Auburn

Selin Ovunc, Auburn

McCartney Kessler, Florida

Mell Reasco, Georgia

Lea Ma, Georgia

Sabina Machalova, Ole Miss

Ayana Akli, South Carolina

Sarah Hamner, South Carolina

Jayci Goldsmith, Texas A&M

Tatiana Makarova, Texas A&M

Carson Branstine, Texas A&M

Tenika McGiffin, Tennessee

Rebeka Mertena, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Petra Sedlackova, Alabama

Alicia Dudeney, Florida

Marlee Zein, Florida

Morgan Coppoc, Georgia

Meg Kowalski, Georgia

Dasha Vidmanova, Georgia

Safiya Carrington, LSU

Emmanouela Antonaki, Mississippi State

Elza Tomase, Tennessee

Mary Stoiana, Texas A&M

Anessa Lee, Vanderbilt

Anna Ross, Vanderbilt

Holly Staff, Vanderbilt


Petra Sedlackova, Alabama

Alicia Dudeney, Florida

Mell Reasco, Georgia

Dasha Vidmanova, Georgia

Sarah Hamner, South Carolina

Mary Stoiana, Texas A&M

Player of the Year: McCartney Kessler, Florida

Freshmen of the Year: Sarah Hamner, South Carolina

Coach of the Year: Mark Weaver, Texas A&M