The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2022 SEC Baseball Awards announced

489 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Michael Wade

HOOVER, Ala. (May 22, 2022) --The Southeastern Conference on Monday announced its 2022 Baseball Awards and All-SEC Teams, recognizing standout performances from this season.

LSU's Dylan Crews and Auburn's Sonny DiChiara were named SEC Co-Players of the Year, Tennessee's Chase Dollander is the SEC Pitcher of the Year, Tennessee's Drew Beam is the SEC Freshman of the Year, Georgia's Ben Anderson is the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and Tennessee's Tony Vitello is the SEC Coach of the Year.

Crews leads the SEC with 61 runs scored and is second with 67 RBI. In conference games, he hit a league-best 16 home runs and ranked first or second in slugging (.800), runs scored (42), hits (43), RBI (38) and total bases (96).

DiChiara is second in the SEC with a .382 batting average and leads the league in slugging (.782) and on-base percentage (.561). Earlier this season DiChiara had reached base in 48 consecutive games dating back to 2021. He is tied for seventh in the SEC with 17 home runs and has drawn a league-high 62 walks.

Dollander is 8-0 this season and leads the SEC with a 2.30 ERA while holding batters to a .158 average, which leads all league pitchers. He leads the nation with a 0.70 WHIP and is tied for second in the SEC with 90 strikeouts.

Beam is tied for second in the SEC with eight wins and is second with a .184 opponent batting average. He is also second nationally with a 0.80 WHIP. Beam ranks third in the conference with a 2.73 ERA.

Anderson holds a degree in biochemistry and plans to attend medical school after his playing career. He is a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll and the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) All-District Team. Anderson has eight home runs and 32 RBI this season with 17 extra base hits.

Vitello helped lead the Vols to a school record 49 wins in the regular season and a No. 1 national ranking. Tennessee became just the third team in SEC history to win 25 conference games.

The 2022 SEC Baseball Tournament will be played Tuesday through Sunday at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium.

2022 SEC Baseball Awards

Co-Player of the Year: Dylan Crews, LSU

Co-Player of the Year: Sonny DiChiara, Auburn

Pitcher of the Year: Chase Dollander, Tennessee

Freshman of the Year: Drew Beam, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ben Anderson, Georgia

Coach of the Year: Tony Vitello, Tennessee

First Team All-SEC

C: BT Riopelle, Florida

1B: Sonny DiChiara, Auburn

2B: RJ Yeager, Mississippi State

3B: Trey Lipscomb, Tennessee

SS: Jacob Gonzalez, Ole Miss

OF: Enrique Bradfield Jr., Vanderbilt

OF: Dylan Crews, LSU

OF: Drew Gilbert, Tennessee

SP: Chase Dollander, Tennessee

SP: Jonathan Cannon, Georgia

RP: Tyler Guilfoil, Kentucky

DH/UT: Dominic Keegan, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

C: Logan Tanner, Mississippi State

1B: Tim Elko, Ole Miss

2B: Ryan Targac, Texas A&M

3B: Jacob Berry, LSU

SS: Josh Day, Missouri

OF: Wyatt Langford, Florida

OF: Spencer Jones, Vanderbilt

OF: Dylan Rock, Texas A&M

SP: Chase Burns, Tennessee

SP: Drew Beam, Tennessee

RP: Blake Burkhalter, Auburn

DH/UT: Brandt Belk, South Carolina*

DH/UT: Austin Bost, Texas A&M*

Freshman All-SEC Team

Chase Burns, SP, Tennessee

Drew Beam, SP, Tennessee

Brady Tygart, RP, Arkansas

Hunter Elliott, SP, Ole Miss

Hagen Smith, SP, Arkansas

Carter Holton, SP, Vanderbilt

Hunter Hines, INF/OF, Mississippi State

Blake Burke, 1B/OF, Tennessee

Brandon Neely, P, Florida

Devin Futrell, SP, Vanderbilt

Michael Braswell, INF/P, South Carolina

Dylan Ray, RP, Alabama*

Chris Cortez, RP, Texas A&M*

SEC All-Defensive Team

C: Logan Tanner, Mississippi State

1B: Tre' Morgan, LSU

2B: Robert Moore, Arkansas

3B: Blake Rambusch, Auburn

SS: Ryan Ritter, Kentucky

OF: Enrique Bradfield, Jr., Vanderbilt

OF: Dylan Crews, LSU

OF: Drew Gilbert, Tennessee

P: Connor Noland, Arkansas

*Ties (Ties are not broken)