The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Nine from SEC in NCAA Baseball Tournament

549 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: AP Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (May 30, 2022) -- Nine Southeastern Conference teams have been selected to compete for the 2022 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, according to an announcement Monday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. Tennessee was selected as the No. 1 overall seed, while Texas A&M is No. 5, Florida No. 13 and Auburn No. 14. The SEC and ACC led all conferences with nine selections.

The top eight national seeds in order are Tennessee, Stanford, Oregon State, Virginia Tech, Texas A&M, Miami, Oklahoma State and East Carolina. Seeds 9-16 in order are Texas, North Carolina, Southern Miss, Louisville, Florida, Auburn, Maryland and Georgia Southern.

SEC schools earning bids include Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU, Ole Miss, Tennessee, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt. At least nine SEC teams have earned NCAA Tournament bids in each of the last four tournaments.

Four from the SEC were named as regional hosts. Auburn, Florida, Tennessee and Texas A&M were among 16 regional hosts announced on Sunday. Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be played Friday, June 3 to Monday, June 6 (if necessary).

The 75th Men's College World Series begins play Friday, June 17, at Charles Schwab Field Omaha, Neb.