The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Four from SEC Earn Rawlings Gold Glove Awards

184 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Emily Merritt/ESPN Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (June 2, 2022) - Four student-athletes from the Southeastern Conference were among the nine recipients of the newly-created Rawlings Gold Glove Award for collegiate softball.

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. revealed the winners in a joint press conference with the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) during the NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Recognized as the best defensive players at their respective positions, the recipients of the inaugural award from the SEC included Florida second baseman Hannah Adams, LSU centerfielder Ciara Briggs, and Missouri shortstop Jenna Laird and left fielder Casidy Chaumont.

Recipients of the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, presented by the NFCA, were selected by the NFCA Division I All-American Committee during the All-American selection meeting held May 29-30, 2022. The selection committee utilized advanced fielding analytics, fielding statistics, strength of schedule and compilations of video to closely examine finalists and select the winners at every defensive position. Any student-athlete that competed in the current championship year whose head coach is a member in good standing with the NFCA was eligible for consideration.

2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, presented by the NFCA
Courtney Wallace, pitcher, University of Nebraska, Lincoln (1.000 fielding %, 57 chances, 0 errors)
Jordyn Rudd, catcher, Northwestern University (1.000 fielding %, 445 chances, 0 errors)
Victoria Sebastian, first base, Villanova University (1.000 fielding %, 366 chances, 0 errors)
Hannah Adams, second base, University of Florida (1.000 fielding %, 161 chances, 0 errors)
Sydney Sherrill, third base, Florida State University (.975 fielding %, 201 chances, 5 errors)
Jenna Laird, shortstop, University of Missouri, Columbia (.975 fielding %, 163 chances, 4 errors)
Casidy Chaumont, left field, University of Missouri, Columbia (1.000 fielding %, 86 chances 0 errors)
Ciara Briggs, center field, Louisiana State University (1.000 fielding %, 89 chances, 0 errors)

Kristina Burkhardt, right field, University of Michigan (1.000 fielding % 87 chances 0 errors)