The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Kentucky is top choice for 2022 SEC volleyball season

511 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (July 11, 2022) - Kentucky, the defending SEC Champion, was selected as the preseason favorite for the 2022 SEC volleyball season, according to the SEC Preseason Coaches' Poll.

The Wildcats, who finished 25-5 overall and 17-1 in conference play last season, garnered 10 of the 13 first-place votes and 142 points in the preseason poll. Florida received two first-place votes and 132 points to finish second in the poll.

Tennessee placed third with 118 points and a first-place vote, while Arkansas claimed fourth place with 105 points. Mississippi State placed fifth with 103 points, and South Carolina took sixth with 75 points. Ole Miss received 70 points for seventh place, followed by LSU in eighth place with 66. Georgia (63) took ninth place, followed by Texas A&M (62), Missouri (31), Auburn (30) and Alabama (17) to round out the poll.

Fifteen student-athletes were selected to the 2022 Preseason Volleyball All-SEC Team. The squad includes Arkansas' Jillian Gillen; Florida's Merritt Beason and Bre Kelly; Kentucky's Eleanor Beavin, Emma Grome, Reagan Rutherford and Azhani Tealer; LSU's Anita Anwusi; Ole Miss' Sasha Ratliff; Mississippi State's Gabby Waden; Missouri's Anna Dixon; South Carolina's Jenna Hampton; and Tennessee's Morgahn Fingall, Natalie Hayward and Danielle Mahaffey.

The 2022 SEC volleyball season will begin on Friday, August 26, and conference play is set to start on Wednesday, September 21.

Preseason Coaches' Poll
(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)
Place School Points
1. Kentucky (10) 142
2. Florida (2) 132
3. Tennessee (1) 118
4. Arkansas 105
5. Mississippi State 103
6. South Carolina 75
7. Ole Miss 70
8. LSU 66
9. Georgia 63
10. Texas A&M 62
11. Missouri 31
12. Auburn 30
13. Alabama 17
Volleyball Preseason All-SEC Team
Name, School Pos. Yr. Ht. Hometown
Jillian Gillen, Arkansas OH Sr. 5-7 Stilwell, Kan.
Merritt Beason, Florida RS/OH So. 6-3 Gardendale, Ala.
Bre Kelley, Florida MB So. 6-4 Rockwall, Texas
Eleanor Beavin, Kentucky L So. 5-5 Louisville, Ky.
Emma Grome, Kentucky S So. 5-9 Loveland, Ohio
Reagan Rutherford, Kentucky OPP Jr. 6-0 Missouri City, Texas
Azhani Tealer, Kentucky MB Sr. 5-10 Grand Prairie, Texas
Anita Anwusi, LSU MB Sr. 6-3 Houston, Texas
Sasha Ratliff, Ole Miss MB Jr. 6-2 Atlanta, Ga.
Gabby Waden, Mississippi State MB/RS Gr. 5-10 Columbia, S.C.
Anna Dixon, Missouri OH Sr. 6-3 Louisburg, Kan.
Jenna Hampton, South Carolina DS/L Gr. 5-7 Tampa, Fla.
Morgahn Fingall, Tennessee RS Sr. 6-1 Fairfax, Va.
Natalie Hayward, Tennessee S Sr. 5-11 Bothell, Wash.
Danielle Mahaffey, Tennessee MB Gr. 6-1 Cincinnati, Ohio