The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas sweeps SEC Outdoor Track & Field titles

23 days ago
SEC Staff

BATON ROUGE, La. (May 13, 2023)-----The Arkansas men and the Arkansas women claimed the 2023 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships here Saturday at Bernie Moore Track and Field Stadium.

The Arkansas men won with 149 points, followed by LSU (89), Tennessee (87), Georgia (75), Texas A&M (73), Florida (70), Alabama (58), Ole Miss (58), Auburn (41), Kentucky (35), Mississippi State (34), South Carolina (32) and Missouri (18).

The Arkansas women won with 134 points, followed by Florida (112), Texas A&M (86), Ole Miss (73.50), Tennessee (67), Georgia (57), LSU (53), Kentucky (50), Alabama (50), Missouri (45), Vanderbilt (39), Auburn (25), South Carolina (19) and Mississippi State (8.5).

This marks the 22nd SEC outdoor title for the Arkansas men and the 10th for the Arkansas women.

Florida's Robert Gregory claimed the men's Commissioner's Trophy with 17 points, while Tennessee's Jacious Sears won the women's Commissioner's Trophy with her 20.5 points.

Men's individual champions crowned on Saturday include: Arkansas' Roje Stona in the discus throw (68.64m/225-2), the LSU 4x100m relay in a collegiate record time of 37.90, Kentucky's Keaton Daniel in the pole vault (5.65m/18-6.5), South Carolina's Anass Essayi in the 1500m (3:41.52), Tennessee's Devon Brooks in the 110m hurdles (13.53), Florida's Ryan Willie in the 400m (44.27), LSU's Godson Oghenebrume in the 100m (10.04), Georgia's Will Sumner in the 800m (1:46.20), Arkansas' Jaydon Hibbert in the triple jump with a collegiate record 17.87m/58-7.5, Arkansas' Ayden Owens-Delerme in the 400m hurdles (48.26), Florida's Robert Gregory in the 200m (20.12), Tennessee's Dylan Jacobs in the 5000m with a meet record 13:36.93 and Florida in the 4x400m relay with a collegiate record 2:57.76.

Women's individual champions crowned Saturday include: Texas A&M's Lamara Distin in the high jump (1.91m/6-3.25), the LSU 4x100m relay (42.92), South Carolina's Silan Ayyildiz in the 1500m (4:17.67), LSU's Alia Armstrong in the 100m hurdles (12.40), Arkansas' Britton Wilson with a collegiate record 49.13 in the 400m, Vanderbilt's Veronica Fraley in the discus (62.84m/206-2), Tennessee's Jacious Sears in the 100m (10.96), Florida's Jasmine Moore in the triple jump (14.14m/46-4.75), Arkansas' Britton Wilson in the 400m hurdles (53.28), LSU's Michaela Rose in the 800m (1:59.73), Ole Miss' McKenzie Long in the 200m (22.39), Florida's Parker Valby in the 5000m (15:25.03), and Texas A&M in the 4x400 relay (3:26.64).

Georgia's Kyle Garland won the men's decathlon on Friday with a meet record 8,589 points, also No. 2 in collegiate history, while Beatrice Juskeviciute of Vanderbilt won the women's heptathlon with 6,079 total points.

Other individual women's champions crowned on Friday were: Arkansas' Amanda Fassold in the pole vault (4.35m/14-3.25), Florida's Jasmine Moore in the long jump (6.88m/22-7), Florida's Alida Van Daalen in the shot put (18.07m/59-4.5) and Ole Miss' Kristel van den Berg in the 3000m steeplechase (9:56.56).

Other individual men's winners on Friday were: Arkansas' Jordan West in the shot put (20.57m/67-6), Missouri's Roberto Vilches in the high jump (2.21m/7-3), Arkansas' Wayne Pinnock in the long jump (8.37m/27-5.5) and Texas A&M's Francesco Romano in the 3000m steeplechase (8:54.79).

Individual champions crowned Thursday were: Auburn's Madi Malone in the women's hammer throw (68.69m), Ole Miss' Tarik Robinson-O'Hagan in the men's hammer throw (71.25m), Texas A&M's Lianna Davidson in the women's javelin (57.65m), Georgia's Marc Minichello in the men's javelin (79.50m), Arkansas' Sydney Thorvaldson in the women's 10,000m (34:18.10) and Alabama's Victor Kiprop in the men's 10,000m (29:58.43).