The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

14 SEC athletes named Campbell Trophy semifinalists

69 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: NFF

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (Sept. 27, 2023)-----A total of 14 Southeastern Conference football student-athletes have been named semifinalists for the 2023 William V. Campbell Trophy®, college football's premier scholar-athlete award, it was announced Wednesday by the National Football Foundation.

The Campbell Trophy® recognizes an individual as the best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. Each of the SEC's 14 universities are represented on the list of 201 national semifinalists.

The National Football Foundation will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct 25, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2023 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino in Las Vegas for the 65th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas on Dec. 5. one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 34th Campbell Trophy® and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The SEC leads all conferences with eight Campbell Trophy® recipients since its inception in 1990.

2023 William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalists - SEC
School Athlete
 Alabama Seth McLaughlin
 Arkansas Hudson Clark
 Auburn Tyler Fromm
 Florida Ricky Pearsall
 Georgia Ladd McConkey
 Kentucky Alex Raynor
 LSU Josh Williams
 Ole Miss Isaac Ukwu
 Mississippi State Ryland Goede
 Missouri Brady Cook
 South Carolina Kai Kroeger
 Tennessee Jacob Warren
 Texas A&M Nik Constantinou
 Vanderbilt Ethan Barr